

BOARD MEETING AGENDA Monday, December 2, 2024

9:00 am to 4:15 pm

Attendees: Mr. Derick Summers, RO, Chair, Elected Member

Mr. Kevin Cloutier, Vice Chair, RO, Elected Member

Mr. Omar Farouk, Government Appointee Mr. Paul Imola, RO, Elected Member Ms. Peggy Judge, Public Member

Mr. Stephen Kinsella, Government Appointee Mr. Samir Modhera, RO, Elected Member Ms. Alicia Munian, Government Appointee Ms. Tonya Nahmabin, RO, Elected Member Mr. Carlos Pacheco, RO, Elected Member Ms. Grazyna Sepczynska, RO, Elected Member Mr. Carlos Sicoli, Government Appointee

Regrets: Mr. Rob Vezina

Administration: Mr. Fazal Khan RO, Registrar and CEO

Ms. Amy Stein, Acting Deputy Registrar and General Counsel

Ms. Carolyn Robertson, Manager, Communications and Executive Office

Ms. Blessing Adebimpe, Staff Accountant

Guests: Ms. Karen Elkin, Meeting Facilitator

Overall Meeting

Purpose: To review reports and make decisions as required.

Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
9:00 – 9:10 10 minutes	Pre-meeting board tech test		
9:10– 9:15 5 minutes	Introduction and Announcements	Information	Derick Summers, Chair
9:15 – 10:40 85 Minutes	A.0 In Camera Session A.1 Approve in Camera Agenda A.2 In Camera Draft Minutes A.3 Review of Appointed Member Candidates A.4 Board Code of Conduct Monitoring Report A.5 Registrar Year-End Presentation A.6 Legal update	Motion to go in camera	Derick Summers, Chair
10:40 – 10:55 15 minutes	Break		



Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
10:55 – 11:05 10 minutes	1.0 Introduction 1.1 Introductions, Announcements, and Land	Motion to adopt the agenda	Derick Summers, Chair
11:05 –11:10 5 minutes	2.0 Minutes 2.1 September 23, 2024 (*)	Motion to approve the minutes	Derick Summers, Chair
11:10 –11:15 5 minutes	3.0 Appointment of Appointed Members	Motion	Derick Summers, Chair
11:15–11:35 20 minutes	4.0 Executive Elections (*) – Executive Committee Elections Procedure and Expressions of Interest 4.1 Review Election Procedure 4.2 Election of Chair 4.3 Election for Vice-Chair 4.4 Election of Three Remaining Executive Members 4.5 Appointment of the 2025 Executive Committee	Motion	Karen Elkin, Meeting Facilitator
11:35 –11:45 10 minutes	5.0 Election of the NEC Representative (*)	Motion	Derick Summers, Chair
11:45 –11:55 10 minutes	6.0 Appointment of the Registrar's Review Subcommittee (*)	Motion	Derick Summers, Chair
11:55 - 1:10 75 minutes	Lunch		
1:10 – 1:40 30 minutes	7.0 Financial Reports 7.1 Year-to-date Financial Variance Report (*) 7.2a In-Person Board Meetings in 2025 7.2 2025 Draft Budget (*)	Motion	Blessing Adebimpe, Staff Accountant
1:40 – 1:55 15 minutes	8.0 Approval of the 2025 Committee Slate (*)	Motion	Derick Summers, Chair
1:55 –2:25 30 minutes	9.0 Governance Policy Updates 9.1 Relationship with the Public & Stakeholders Policy 9.2 Registrant Relations Policy 9.3 Vote Majority for Termination of Registrar Policy 9.4 Board and Committee Principles Policy	Motion	Elliot Borins, Chair of Governance
2:25 – 2:40 15 minutes	Break		



Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
2:40 – 2:50 10 minutes	10.0 Assignment of Board Monitoring Reports for 2025	Monitoring	Derick Summers, Chair
2:50 – 2:55 5 minutes	11.0 Registration Policies 11.1 Contact Lens Mentor Policy (*)	Motion	Rob Vezina, Chair, Registration
2:55 – 3:00 5 minutes	12.0 2025 Board Meeting Dates (*)	Motion	Derick Summers, Chair
3:00 –3:15 15 minutes	13.0 Review of 2024 Strategic Work Plan (*)	Motion	Amy Stein, Deputy Registrar
3:15 – 3:30 15 minutes	14.0 Strategic Work Plan 2025 Review and Development (*)	Motion	Amy Stein, Deputy Registrar
3:30 - 4:00	15.0 Presentation by Leslee White-Eye	Information and Discussion	Leslee White-Eye, Counsel
4:00 - 4:10 10 minutes	16.0 2024 Board Self Evaluations (*)	Information and Discussion	Derick Summers, Chair
4:10 – 4:15 5 minutes	17.0 Recess until the following day	Motion	Derick Summers, Chair



BOARD MEETING AGENDA Tuesday, December 3, 2024 9:00 am to 12:15 pm

Attendees: Mr. Derick Summers, RO, Elected Member

Mr. Kevin Cloutier, Vice Chair, RO, Elected Member

Mr. Omar Farouk, Government Appointee Mr. Paul Imola, RO, Elected Member Ms. Peggy Judge, Public Member

Mr. Stephen Kinsella, Government Appointee Mr. Samir Modhera, RO, Elected Member Ms. Alicia Munian, Government Appointee Ms. Tonya Nahmabin, RO, Elected Member Mr. Carlos Pacheco, RO, Elected Member Ms. Grazyna Sepczynska, RO, Elected Member

Mr. Rob Vezina, RO, Elected Member Mr. Carlos Sicoli, Government Appointee

Administration: Mr. Fazal Khan RO, Registrar and CEO

Ms. Amy Stein, Acting Deputy Registrar and General Counsel

Ms. Carolyn Robertson, Manager, Communications and Executive Office

Ms. Blessing Adebimpe, Staff Accountant

Guests: Ms. Karen Elkin, Meeting Facilitator

Overall Meeting

Purpose: To review reports and make decisions as required.

Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
9:00 – 9:10 10 minutes	Pre-meeting board tech test		
9:10 – 9:40 30 minutes	Training Session: Electoral Districts Best Practices	Information and Discussion	Melanie Woodbeck, Registrar, CDO
9:40 – 9:45 5 minutes	18.0 Welcome Back 18.1 Opening remarks	Information and Discussion	Derick Summers, Chair
9:45 – 10:15 30 minutes	19.0 Proposed Governance Reform: Electoral Districts	Motion	Elliot Borins, Chair of Governance
10:15 – 10:45 30 minutes	20.0 Presentation by Deanna Williams	Information and Discussion	Deanna Williams, Dundee Consulting
10:45 – 11:00 15 minutes	Break		



Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
11:00 – 11:20 20 minutes	21.0 Monitoring Reports 21.1 Reserves Policy Monitoring Report 21.2 Investment Policy Monitoring Report	Monitoring	Fazal Khan, Registrar and CEO
11:20 –11:30 10 minutes	22.0 Department Spotlight QA	Information and Discussion	Peggy Dreyer, Director of Quality Assurance
11:30 –12:00 30 minutes	23.0 Reports 23.1 Registrar's Report (*) 23.2 NACOR Report (*) 23.3 Committee Reports (*) 23.4 Communications Reports (*)	Motion	Derick Summers, Chair
12:00	24.0 Adjournment	Motion	Derick Summers, Chair
12:00 – 12:15 15 minutes	Reflection Period	Discussion	Derick Summers, Chair