

## BOARD MEETING AGENDA Monday, December 5, 2022 COO Boardroom 10:05 am to 4:30 pm

Attendees:	<ul> <li>Mr. Stephen Kinsella, Chair, Public Member</li> <li>Ms. Neda Mohammadzadeh RO, Vice Chair, Elected Member</li> <li>Ms. Diana Bristow, Public Member</li> <li>Mr. Kevin Cloutier,</li> <li>Mr. Omar Farouk, Public Member</li> <li>Ms. Amber Fournier, RO, Elected Member</li> <li>Ms. Peggy Judge, Public Member</li> <li>Ms. Elsa Lee, RO, Elected Member</li> <li>Mr. Samir Modhera, RO, Elected Member</li> <li>Ms. Dorina Reiz, RO, Elected Member</li> <li>Mr. Derick Summers, RO, Elected Member</li> <li>Mr. Mike Smart, RO, Elected Member</li> <li>Mr. Henry Wiersema, Public Member</li> </ul>
Administration:	Mr. Fazal Khan RO, Registrar and CEO Ms. Amy Stein, Acting Deputy Registrar and General Counsel Ms. Carolyn Robertson, Manager, Communications and Executive Office Ms. Fizza Asad, Human Resources and Accounting Specialist
Guests:	Ms. Sarah Butson, Meeting Facilitator

## **Overall Meeting**

Purpose: To review reports and make decisions as required.

Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
	2.0 In Camera Session		
10:05 – 10:15 10 minutes	<ul> <li>3.0 Introduction</li> <li>3.1 Introductions, Announcements and Land Acknowledgement</li> <li>3.2 Conflict of Interest Declaration</li> <li>3.3 Adoption of Agenda</li> </ul>	Motion to adopt the agenda	Stephen Kinsella, Chair
10:15 –10:20 5 minutes	<b>4.0 Minutes</b> 4.1 October 3, 2022 (*)	Motion to approve the minutes	Stephen Kinsella, Chair
10:25 –10:30 5 minutes	5.0 Appointment of Appointed Members	Motion	Stephen Kinsella, Chair
10:30 –10:45 15 minutes	Break		



Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
10:45–11:30 45 minutes	<ul> <li>6.0 Executive Elections</li> <li>(*) - Executive Committee Elections Procedure and Expressions of Interest</li> <li>6.1 Review Election Procedure</li> <li>6.2 Election of Chair</li> <li>6.3 Election of Vice-Chair</li> <li>6.4 Election of Three Remaining Executive Members</li> <li>6.5 Appointment of the 2023 Executive Committee</li> </ul>	Motion	Sarah Butson, Meeting Facilitator
11:30 – 12:00 30 minutes	7.0 Reducing overlap between the Board and Committee	Motion	Gord White, Chair of Governance
12:00- 1:15 75 minutes	Lunch (2022 Executive Committee to meet at lunch and review the proposed committee slate)		
1:15–1:50 35 minutes	<ul> <li>8.0 Financial Reports</li> <li>8.1 Year-to-date Financial Variance Report (*)</li> <li>8.2 2023 Draft Budget (*)</li> <li>8.3 Appointment of the Auditor (*)</li> </ul>	Motion	Fizza Asad, Human Resources and Accounting Specialist
1:50–2:00 10 minutes	9.0 Appointment of the Registrar's Review Subcommittee (*)	Motion	Stephen Kinsella, Chair
2:00–2:10 10 minutes	10.0 Election of the NEC Representative (*)	Motion	Stephen Kinsella, Chair
2:10 -2:25 15 minutes	11.0 Approval of the Committee Slate (*)	Motion	Stephen Kinsella, Chair
2:25 - 2:40 15 minutes	Break		
2:40–3:00 20 minutes	<b>12.0 Policy Updates</b> 12.1 Quarterly policies for content review 12.2 Pre-Election / Pre-Appointment Screening Policy	Motion	Gord White, Chair of Governance
3:00–3:15 15 minutes	13.0 Update on Status of 2022 Strategic Work Plan (*)	Motion	Amy Stein, Deputy Registrar
3:15–3:30 15 minutes	14.0 Approval of the Draft 2023-2025 Strategic Plan (*)	Motion	Stephen Kinsella, Chair
3:30- 3:40 10 minutes	15.0 Strategic Work Plan 2023 Review and Development	Monitoring	Amy Stein, Deputy Registrar



Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
3:40 –4:10 30 minutes	16.0 Standard 8: Refraction and Refracting Status	Motion	Dorina Reiz, Chair, Clinical Practice
4:10–4:15 5 minutes	17.0 2022 Board Meeting Dates (*)	Motion	Stephen Kinsella, Chair
4:15-4:25 10 minutes	18.0 2022 Board Self Evaluations (*)	Information and Discussion	Stephen Kinsella, Chair
4:25 – 4:30 5 minutes	19.0 Recess until the following day	Motion	Stephen Kinsella, Chair



## BOARD MEETING AGENDA Tuesday, December 6, 2022 COO Boardroom 9:15 am to 12:40 pm

Attendees:	<ul> <li>Mr. Stephen Kinsella, Chair, Public Member</li> <li>Ms. Neda Mohammadzadeh RO, Vice Chair, Elected Member</li> <li>Ms. Diana Bristow, Public Member</li> <li>Mr. Kevin Cloutier,</li> <li>Mr. Omar Farouk, Public Member</li> <li>Ms. Amber Fournier, RO, Elected Member</li> <li>Ms. Peggy Judge, Public Member</li> <li>Ms. Elsa Lee, RO, Elected Member</li> <li>Mr. Samir Modhera, RO, Elected Member</li> <li>Ms. Dorina Reiz, RO, Elected Member</li> <li>Mr. Derick Summers, RO, Elected Member</li> <li>Mr. Mike Smart, RO, Elected Member</li> <li>Mr. Henry Wiersema, Public Member</li> </ul>
Administration:	Mr. Fazal Khan RO, Registrar and CEO Ms. Amy Stein, Acting Deputy Registrar and General Counsel Ms. Carolyn Robertson, Manager, Communications and Executive Office Ms. Fizza Asad, Human Resources and Accounting Specialist
Guests:	Ms. Sarah Butson, Meeting Facilitator

**Overall Meeting** 

Purpose: To review reports and make decisions as required.

Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
9:15 – 9:25 10 minutes	Pre meeting board tech test		
9:25 – 9:30 5 minutes	20.0 Welcome Back 20.1 Opening remarks	Information and Discussion	Stephen Kinsella, Chair
9:30 – 9:55 25 minutes	<ul> <li>21.0 Monitoring Reports</li> <li>21.1 Investment Policy Monitoring Report</li> <li>21.2 Reserves Policy Monitoring Report</li> <li>21.3 Registrant Relations Monitoring Report</li> </ul>	Monitoring	Fazal Khan, Registrar and CEO
9:55–10:05 10 minutes	22.0 Board Code of Conduct Monitoring Report	Monitoring	Derick Summers, Board Member
10:05–10:10 10 minutes	23.0 Assignment of Board Monitoring Reports for 2023	Monitoring	Gord White, Chair of Governance



Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
10:10 –10:30 20 minutes	24.0 Competency Review and Evaluation Process	Motion	Tonya, Nahmabin, Chair, Quality Assurance
10:30 –10:45 15 minutes	Break		
10:45 –11:00 15 minutes	25.0 Approval of Life Member Applications	Motion	Amy Stein, Deputy Registrar
11:00–11:15 15 minutes	26.0 Registration Policy updates	Motion	Dorina Reiz, Chair, Registration
11:15 –11:25 10 minutes	27.0 Reports 27.1 Registrar's Report (*) 27.2 NACOR Report (*) 27.3 Examinations Report (*) 27.4 Committee Reports (*) 27.5 Communications Reports (*)	Motion	Stephen Kinsella, Chair
11:25	28.0 Adjournment	Motion	Stephen Kinsella, Chair